The Joys of an Ordinary Life

Stop chasing the exceptional

Gabriella H.
3 min readMar 18, 2024
dark-haired woman enjoying a hot cup of coffee by the window
Author’s image created with DALL-E

Here I am, perched like a pigeon, staring out the window while nursing my hot cup of coffee, reveling in the thrilling mundanity of my ordinary existence.

The highlight of my day has been nailing the sugar-to-coffee ratio like a culinary wizard, achieving the sweet nectar of the caffeine gods.

Meanwhile, my friends are out there camping in the snow, probably wrestling a bear or something interesting like that. Others are in the midst of buying their third house their attempt to build a real estate empire. And then, there’s the couple who’s diving headfirst into parenthood.

As I lounge here, pondering my gloriously insignificant existence, I can’t help but feel a bizarre sense of luck.

Is it depression?

Is it exhaustion?

Or perhaps it’s an acute cause of I-no-longer-have-any-fucks-to-give-osis?

Whatever this blissful apathy is, it’s surprisingly cozy.

What’s Wrong With An Ordinary Existence?

We were fed the idea the an ordinary life was the exclusive territory of ordinary people, which was a euphemism for losers. An ordinary life is reserved for couch potatoes, procrastinators, and sloths.

--

--

Gabriella H.

I’m always curious, always looking for something new to learn, using life as a learning canvas.